Gem, Rock, and Mineral Postage Stamps From
Southern Rhodesia

Official Name: Southern Rhodesia
National Name: Southern Rhodesia
Monetary Units: 12 pence = 1 shilling; 20 shillings = 1 pound
Location: South Central Africa; bordered by Zambia (north), Mozambique (east), Republic of South Africa (south), Botswana (west).
History: Created from the division of Rhodesia, then administered by the British South Africa Company, in 1923; joined Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland, in 1953, to form the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland; reverted to Southern Rhodesia, in 1963, when the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland dissolved; became Rhodesia in October 1964; renamed Zimbabwe in April 1980.
Mineral Resources: Gold, chrome, coal, copper, nickel.

Southern Rhodesia Scott 102
Beryl (var. Emerald)
Southern Rhodesia
Scott 102
1 shilling
19 Feb 1964

Natural, unpolished emerald
crystals in matrix. Philatelic Mineralogy Copyright © 1997-2010 by Richard Busch