Gem, Rock, and Mineral Postage Stamps From
Congo People's Republic

Official Name: Republic of the Congo
National Name: République Populaire du Congo
Alternate Names: Congo; Congo Republic; République du Congo; not to be confused with Congo Democratic Republic (Zaire) which has also been called Congo and Republic of the Congo
Monetary Units: 1 CFA franc (CFAF) = 100 centimes.
Location: Central Africa; bordered by Gabon (northwest); Cameroon and Central African Republic (north); Congo Democratic Republic (east and south); Angola and Atlantic Ocean (southwest).
History: Formerly Middle Congo, then part of French Equatorial Africa, then part of Congo Democratic Republic.
Mineral Resources: Diamonds; petroleum.

Congo People's Republic Scott C94 Congo People's Republic Scott C95
Congo People's Republic
Scott C94
100 CFA francs
Congo People's Republic
Scott C95
150 CFA francs

This set of 2 stamps was issued on 20 Mar 1970.
Both stamps show illustrations of natural, unpolished specimens. Philatelic Mineralogy Copyright © 1997-2010 by Richard Busch