Gem, Rock, and Mineral Postage Stamps From

Official Name: Republic of Botswana
National Name: Republic of Botswana
Alternate Names: formerly Bechuanaland
Monetary Units: 1 South African rand (r) = 100 cents (c). On August 23, 1976, the pula replaced the South African rand (at par. Currently, 1 pula (p) = 100 thebe (t).
Location: Southern Africa; bordered by Zambia (north); Zimbabwe (east); South Africa (east and south); Namibia (west and north).
History: The Bechuanaland Protectorate became the independent republic of Botswana on September 30, 1966.
Mineral Resources: Diamonds, copper, nickel, salt, soda ash, potash, coal, iron ore, silver.

Botswana Scott 61
Scott 61
35 cents
23 Mar 1970

Orapa Diamond Mine;
rough to faceted diamonds.

Botswana Scott 341
Scott 341
7 thebe
19 Mar 1984

Faceted diamonds. Philatelic Mineralogy Copyright © 1997-2010 by Richard Busch