Gem, Rock, and Mineral Postage Stamps From

Official Name: Republic of Armenia
National Name: Hayastani Hanrapetut'yun
Alternate Names: Hayastan; Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic (former name); Armenian Republic (former name)
Monetary Units: 1 ruble (r) = 100 kopecks (k). On November 22, 1993, the Armeniam dram was introduced to replace the Russian ruble, at a rate of 200 Russian rubles to 1 dram. Currently, 1 dram (d) = 100 lumas (l).
Location: Southwestern Asia, east of Turkey.
History: Armenia was incorporated into Russia in 1828 and into the USSR in 1920. It gained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.
Mineral Resources: Gold, copper, molybdenum, zinc, aluminum.

Armenia Scott 585 Armenia Scott 586
Scott 585
170 dram
Quartz (var. Agate)
Scott 586
250 dram

This set of 2 stamps was issued in 1988.
Scott 585 shows natural, unpolished pyrite specimens.
Scott 586 shows a polished slab of agate. Philatelic Mineralogy Copyright © 1997-2010 by Richard Busch