Gem, Rock, and Mineral Postage Stamps From

Official Name: Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria
National Name: Al Jumhuriyah al Jaza'iriyah ad Dimuqratiyah ash Shabiyah
Alternate Names: Algérie; Al Jaza'ir
Monetary Units: 1 franc (f) = 100 centimes (c). Beginning in 1964, 1 dinar (d) = 100 centimes (c).
Location: Northern Africa; bordered by the Mediterranean Sea (north); Morocco and Western Sahara (west); Mauritania, Mali, and Niger (south); Libya and Tunisia (east).
History: Algeria was a French colony until September 1958, when it became part of France. On July 3, 1962, Algeria gained independence from France.
Mineral Resources: Iron ore, phosphates, lead, zinc, mercury, uranium.

Algeria Scott 710 Algeria Scott 711
Gypsum (var. Desert Rose)
Scott 710
70 centimes
Scott 711
80 centimes
Algeria Scott 712 Algeria Scott 713
Quartz (var. Agate)
Scott 712
1.20 dinar
Scott 713
2.40 dinar

This set of 4 stamps was issued on 21 Apr 1983 and
shows natural, unpolished mineral specimens.
The agate shown on Scott 712 is likely sawed to reveal
a cross-section of the specimen's internal structure.

Algeria Scott 1029 Algeria Scott 1030 Algeria Scott 1031
Sandstone (Gres lite erode)
Scott 1029
3 dinar
Marble (Cipolin)
Scott 1030
5 dinar
Sandstone (Marne a turitella)
Scott 1031
10 dinar

This set of 3 stamps was issued in 1994 and shows natural, unpolished rock specimens.
Scott 1031 also shows exposed Turritella fossil shells. Philatelic Mineralogy Copyright © 1997-2010 by Richard Busch